Our Staff

Senior Pastor

Rev. Robert McDowell

robert@firstumcathens.org

(740) 593-3977 ext. 15

Before his appointment at First United Methodist Church in Athens (June 2015), Robert also served churches in Lancaster, Xenia, Toledo, Findlay, Quincy, and Lima. Originally from southeastern, Pennsylvania, Robert moved to Ohio in 1985 to attend United Theological Seminary in Dayton and during this time decided to become a member of the West Ohio Conference. Robert is married to Penny and they have two grown children. Robert’s life mission is to joyfully live out the good news of Jesus Christ through word and deed so that his family, his church, and his community will know and embrace God’s hope and promises for their daily living.

Robert also regularly writes about matters of faith and Methodism at his blog: Nikos!


General Ministry Staff

Rick Seiter

Director of Congregational Care

rick@firstumcathens.org

(740) 593-3977 ext. 16

Kathy Mangen

Director of Growing Tree Preschool
and Christian Education

kathy@firstumcathens.org

(740) 593-3977 ext 14

Music Ministry Staff

Dr. Bradley M. Naylor

Director of Music Ministries & Conductor of Chancel Choir

bmnaylor@gmail.com

Dr. Sean Parsons

Associate Director of Music Ministries & Organist/Pianist
parsons1@ohio.edu

Kevin Dael

Director of Handbell Choir

daelk1@gmail.com

Monday Lunch Staff

Tom Murray

Director of Monday Lunch Ministry

mondaylunch@firstumcathens.org

Allene Kilgore

Guest Relations Coordinator for

Monday Lunch Ministry

k.allenekilgore127@gmail.com

Ronda Clark

Monday Lunch Assistant Coordinator

ronda@firstumcathens.org

Support Staff

Dan Smith

Treasurer

retired.dan@gmail.com

Denise Davis

Director of Finance

denise@firstumcathens.org

(740) 593-3977 ext. 28

Chrissa Somerset

Graphic Design Specialist & Office Manager

chrissa@firstumcathens.org

740-593-3977 ext. 1

Mindy Dolman

Custodian

Dan Inman

Maintenance


Kristin Kerwin

Event Host & Wedding Coordinator

kerwink@ohio.edu

Growing Tree Preschool Staff

Kathy Mangen

Director of Growing Tree Preschool and

Christian Education; Preschool Teacher

kathy@firstumcathens.org

Angela Strycker

Preschool Teacher

angela@firstumcathens.org

Laurel Bethell

Preschool Teacher

Lay Ministry Leaders

Jed and Vicki Butcher

Prayer Ministry Coordinators

Jean-Marie Cackowski

Athens County Food Pantry Liaison

Bonita Maze

UMW Chairperson

bjm7073@gmail.com

Erin Shultz

Acolyte Coordinator

Barb Dingle

Bereavement Coordinator

bjdingle@gmail.com

Ken Edwards

Missions Ministry Coordinator

LMNO@LMNOeng.com

Brandon Saunders

A/V Director

brandon.saunders@bcsengineering.com